top of page

Unveiling the Serpent Power Within: Exploring Kundalini Shakti

Kundalini Shakti is a deeply rooted spiritual tradition in India, particularly within the realms of yoga and tantra. This esoteric and mystical concept revolves around the idea of an untapped divine energy residing within each individual, known as Kundalini. Often symbolized as a coiled serpent at the base of the spine, Kundalini Shakti is believed to be a powerful force that, when awakened, can lead to profound spiritual transformation and enlightenment.

Understanding Kundalini Shakti

Kundalini Shakti means “spiritual energy” and is derived from two Sanskrit words: "kundalin" meaning circular, coiled; plus “shakti” meaning divine feminine energy, and/or "zakti," meaning energy, power, ability, strength. The philosophy asserts that every individual possesses this dormant spiritual energy, sleeping like a coiled snake, 3 1/2 times, around the base of the spine.  The goal of Kundalini Yoga and other related practices is to awaken and raise this energy through the chakras, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

The Chakra System

Central to the philosophy of Kundalini Shakti is the concept of the chakra system. Chakras are subtle energy channels or energy centers in the body.  There are seven main chakras, aligned along the spine, each associated with specific qualities and aspects of human experience.  The chakras are, from the tip of the tailbone moving upward:

  1. Muladhara (Root Chakra): Represents foundation, grounding and security

  2. Svadhisthana (Sacral Chakra): Associated with creativity and sexuality

  3. Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra): Governs personal power and will

  4. Anahata (Heart Chakra): Seat of love, compassion, and interconnectedness

  5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra): Relates to communication and self-expression

  6. Ajna (Third Eye Chakra): Linked to intuition and spiritual insight

  7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra): Represents higher consciousness and spiritual awakening

The Awakening Process

For some the awakening of Kundalini Shakti is a gift through connection with their guru or teacher, known as Shaktipat.  Shaktipat signifies a direct transmission or bestowal of spiritual energy from a realized teacher (guru) to a disciple. It is considered a potent catalyst for spiritual awakening and transformation in various Hindu and yogic traditions.

However, for most, the journey of Kundalini awakening involves much practice and potential lifetimes to achieve.  Through self discipline and enacting dedicated spiritual practices, including meditation, breathwork, yoga asanas and mantras, all designed to activate, mobilize, channel energy, we can start to direct our flow of dynamic energy through the chakras.  As Kundalini ascends through the chakras, individuals may experience various physical, mental, and emotional manifestations, ranging from temporary challenges and discomfort, to heightened awareness, internal bliss, and a harmonious balance of mind, body, and spirit.

Kundalini awakening is not limited to just Yoga based traditions.  Here are a few others and the basics of their practice.

Yoga Tradition: In the yoga tradition, Kundalini activation is often approached through intensive practices such as pranayama (breath control), asana (physical postures), and meditation. Skilled yoga instructors provide guidance and instruction, helping practitioners to awaken and balance their Kundalini energy.

Tantric Tradition: In Tantric practices, Kundalini activation involves various rituals, including mantra chanting, visualization, and specific energy channeling techniques. Tantric masters guide disciples through these practices, facilitating the awakening of Kundalini energy.

Qi Gong Tradition: Within Qi Gong, Kundalini activation is achieved through a combination of breath work, movement, and focused intention. Qi Gong masters transmit energy through their movements and presence, aiding disciples in aligning and cultivating the flow of Kundalini energy along the body's energy meridians.

Sufi Tradition: In the Sufi tradition, Kundalini activation is approached through devotion, music, and ecstatic practices such as Sufi dance (whirling). Sufi teachers serve as spiritual guides, leading disciples on a journey of self-discovery and inner awakening, often through the transmission of divine love and grace.

Spiritual Evolution and Liberation

A Tibetan monk walks up to a hotdog vendor and says, “Make me one with everything.”  

The journey of awakening kundalini transcends mere physical and mental realms; it delves into the very essence of spiritual evolution and liberation. The philosophy surrounding Kundalini Shakti elucidates a profound understanding of existence itself. As the dynamic power ascends through the subtle energy channels within the body, it symbolizes the ascent of consciousness towards its ultimate union with the cosmic consciousness.  This is often depicted in Yoga and Hindu mythologies, as the merging of Shakti (the divine feminine) with Shiva (the divine masculine) or the Individual Soul with the Universal Soul.

This union transcends the confines of individual identity.  It’s a merging into the boundless expanse of cosmic awareness and heralds a state of self-realization, where the illusory veil of ego dissolves, and the seeker experiences an ineffable sense of unity with the entirety of creation. In this state of heightened consciousness, duality evaporates, that is the distinction between self and others.  This gives way to a sense of oneness with all things: an understanding of the inherent interconnectedness and interdependence of all beings and phenomena.

In conclusion, the awakening of Kundalini Shakti is not merely a personal journey of spiritual growth but is intricately intertwined with the collective evolution of humanity and the cosmos. It is seen as a microcosmic reflection of the macrocosmic process of creation and dissolution, wherein each individual soul's awakening contributes to the expansion of consciousness throughout the universe. Thus, the philosophy of Kundalini Shakti serves as a profound guidepost on the path to realizing the ultimate truth of existence and attaining liberation from the cycle of birth and death.


Jai Shambo : Dwell in Joy

18 views0 comments


bottom of page